Tired and Stretched

It’s been an exhausting day today doing nothing.

Had an early night last night because I was feeling pretty exhausted and yesterday my stomach was feeling really tight for a lot of the day. It did remind me a little bit of when I went into premature labour with our little girl last year, so I took care to rest as much as I could (although I did have to do a bit of a waddle around the supermarket to get eggs – craving for lunchtime). I think the early night did me good as I did sleep quite well and woke up feeling a bit more rested. I kept thinking ‘have I drunk enough water’ as the paranoid part of me thought maybe it was pre-labour signs, and I know emptying your bladder, lying down and drinking 3 large glasses of water are the way to go if you do start to have labour signs. Of course it would be an absolute disaster if I did go into premature labour at this early stage. Fingers crossed it is just me being paranoid. If Iwas really concerned I know I can always just show up to the woman’s assessment unit at the hospital and get checked out. Thing is my body is going through some major changes supporting another life inside it, so I can’t expect to feel ‘normal’ all the time.

Today I was up early, set to go to work but after breakfast my energy levels just plummeted so I listened to my body and just lay on the couch for much of the day resting and with a few Nana naps thrown in. Very boring, and I have quite a lot of work I was planning to try getting through today too, but I come first, so I guess I just need to listen to my body and go with it.

My stomach is just feeling a bit sore and hard… perhaps just a growth spurt? I was feeling as though I have to hold onto it which might just be ligament pain, so have placed the tummy support thing I bought last week on and it is feeling so much better.

Tomorrow I am off to high tea with a few close friends to remember our little girl we lost last year. A close friend arranged it all and we’re off to the restaurant at the park where we had our wee blessing ceremony / private farewell. We sat under the blossom trees for that, but because the weather is so changeable here at the moment it didn’t seem like the wisest choice to try have a picnic under the trees with the girls. So instead we will play ladies and have lovely high tea. One of my best friends is 7 1/2 months pregnant so it will be interesting to see how much smaller I am than her. She is a fitness freak and has been running all the way through her pregnancy, as well as doing pilates and yoga. Her and I are like chalk and cheese in terms of the amount of exercise we are doing. Bet I’m not that much smaller than her 🙂

Oh… just getting lots of little movements in my tummy as I am typing this. Think bubs is kicking about quite alot in the last few days I am really starting to notice all the little twinges that have to be bubs moving about. What’s it going to be like as time goes on I wonder?

I just thought of something – I went for a massage yesterday so perhaps that is what set off all the tightness in my tummy? Or co-incidence??

5 thoughts on “Tired and Stretched

  1. Hi there,

    My bump as been a bit sore as well. I needed to go to London for the day on Monday (up at 5am back at 9pm). I was exhausted and needed to put my feet up to stop the bump from feeling sore. I feel it is “tight” as well.

    I hope that your high tea goes well.

    • Hey, I’ve been wondering how you’ve been doing. Quite reassuring that you are going through similar feelings with your bump. Phew!! 🙂 That trip to London sounds manic – bet you were a wreck after such a tiring day.

      Thanks re: the high tea. Should be nice to chill with the girls.

      Hope you have a great weekend (although it is only Friday morning I guess there, so enjoy your Friday). Take care!!

  2. I have a crazy week next week as well. I am off to Norway on Monday lunchtime and back on Wednesday night (again for work – I wish I could travel 1st class). However the following Friday night I will be off for a week and we have a trip to Italy planned. I can’t imagine I will be doing very much walking so it will be slow touring and ice cream eating on the adgenda. But I will be very pleased to have the time away from work.

    I certainly think that it is moving around too much that makes my bump sore as when I collapse on the sofa at night with my feet up things all smooth out. I might look into one of those bump bands you mentioned as I feel that a bit of support would help…(and it is only a small bump as well!). Many people would have no idea I am pregnant yet….

    October will also be a busy month but more for personal reasons than Spet has for work reasons. My new nephew will be born at any point now – (my sister is the size of a house – I hope she never reads this!) – my Grandma in law turns 90 and we have my father in law visiting for a weekend. They can’t both come at the same time as they have lots of chickens and ducks and two dogs and a cat to look after! Finding a pet sitter is near on impossible 🙂

    Unfortunately this weekend is work as well – a manic month for me…… but it is almost over thank goodness. Have fun.

    • Wow – you do have a full-on time ahead. Make sure you take it easy as much as you can in between times. I always worry a bit when I hear schedules like yours as you don’t want to get yourself too tired, so make sure you look after yourself and your precious bump.

      At least your week in Italy can be whatever it needs to be, and if you feel like lazing about just do it. I have to say the thought of taking a leisurely strole around Italy while eating a gelato sounds great though. Have you spent alot of time in Italy? It’s many years since I was there, and a bit of a rushed trip now I look back, but fun all the same.

      Would definately recommend the belly support! And the one I have you can reverse it (securing in the front) so it supports your back if that is the problem area too. Great that you aren’t showing too much yet. I guess with your first it often takes a while to show. But I guess people are less likely to be accommodating when it’s not obvious you are pregnant yet. I am the opposite. When I went out to buy a new car for my Mum the lady in the office, and the sales rep both asked me if I knew what I was having and when I was due. I was a bit taken back but then realised it is SO obvious now I am pregnant. The massage therapist thought I was 20 something weeks… I think because I am a bit on the short side I have no where to hide it so it just seems to pop out.

      That will be lovely to have a new nephew soon! Ha! Big as a house – you never know that might be you yet 🙂 How amusing that your grandma and father in-law can’t visit at the same time. Animals are such a committment aren’t they, but they must love having them.

      Anyway, I’d better go. You take care and make sure you rest and relax when you can and don’t overdo it!!

  3. Yes – my husband is looking after most things in the house so that when I come home I don’t have much to do at all. So I am trying to relax as much as I can. I also have a very comfortable chair in my office and I have been known to take a 15 min nap after lunch!

    Neither of us have ever been to Italy before so we are looking forward to it a great deal. I think there will be a lot of naps in the afternoon involved!

    We are off to look at a house just round the corner tomorrow for potentially buying…it is bigger than our current house.

    I can’t imagine strangers asking me about skippy. It must be very odd when they ask after bubs. You have your scan next week don’t you? I hope that bubs behaves and if you want to find out what gender bubs is you can!

Comments are closed.