16 weeks pregnant

Today I am 16 weeks pregnant. I went to the high risk clinic today just for a check up to make sure all is OK. I must say I am once again so impressed with the treatment and consultation. Apart from the long waiting times I really can’t fault the system.

The normal routine is to check in at reception, grab my notes and take it to the nurse who immediately records my weight, then hands me a label which I take to the loo to put on the container for the urine sample I must do each time. There is a little door that opens from the bathroom into the clinic so I just open the wee door (or should I say little door to save from confusion… but actually ‘wee’ door is rather appropriate) and place the sample on the shelf that opens into the lab on the other side of the toilets.

Then it is off to the waiting area where I make the most of reading my book. Because of the swine flu the waiting area is rather spread out in an area with lots of couches. Apparently they need people to be at least 1 metre apart to prevent it from spreading.

I got to see the same Dr who did my suture operation, and I must say I was very impressed with him this time. He was very thorough, answered all my questions, and went over everything in detail. He mentioned he wasn’t that happy after the surgery as he didn’t expect to face the issues he had to with my cervix. Apparently the posterior part of the cervix was almost non existent so was very difficult to put the suture into. He was quite happy though with where the stitch is now though so that’s good. We also listened to bubs heart racing along, but it did take a while to find. I mentioned that I was starting to have some problems with my back and next thing you know he’s organised an appointment with the physio for me, straight after my appointment with him. That’s service.

So I finish with the Dr and get a chance to catch up on my reading again while I wait for the physio. When I do see her I am impressed with all the tips and techniques she has for me about everything… how to sit in a chair, sitting down, getting up, getting in and out of bed, in and out of the car and can you believe how to best do a poo. ha! I’m to lean forward like I am reading and hiss and I ‘go’. Bizarre as it sounds it is meant to help relax the right section of muscles and tighten and support another section. Apparently my L4 or L5 section of my back that seems to be slightly out and the right part of my sacrum which in turn means it affects my piriformis muscles is effected. So she massages me and does some pressure points which hurt, but it’s good. She ends by taping me across the lower right area of my back, and sends me on my way.

So I am most impressed with how ‘looked after’ I feel at the high risk clinic. Next appointment is in 2 weeks with the midwife and physio, then 3 weeks will be our 19 week anatomy scan. Things going OK so far, but still just resting and relaxing and trying minimise stress so will hope that helps to get us where we want to go. 🙂