ivf story / ivf journey

IVF Day 2 – It’s just another day…

IVF injection in the morning, and it hardly hurt at all… just a little red patch again initially and itchy in the spot but all fine. It’s only Day 2 and already I’m feeling like it’s just part of my daily routine.

I had a busy day at work with meetings and deadlines, so haven’t thought about anything too much.

Definitely not feeling bad or any side-effects of the buserelin (but it is only day 2 I guess). I feel pretty normal. (I think my man has been more grumpy than usual so maybe he is feeling the effects instead of me?)

This time last year I bet it was all a little more exciting in a way. I enjoyed showing close friends and family my little IVF pack with injections, drugs and sanitizing wipes. I even gave a live ‘this is how I inject myself’ show on occasion.

This time round we are not telling our friends or family. With losing our daughter last year it has made us look at things differently. We don’t want to feel others disappointment if it doesn’t work out and want to give ourselves a break from the well-meaning lovely people in our lives asking how it’s going all the time. We just want to work through things ourselves at this point and see how we go…

IVF Day 1 – Starting Buserelin injections.

Today I started my first lot of IVF injections. It’s kind of an exciting day actually – knowing today the ball starts rolling.

It wasn’t so bad! I got the needle and drugs all ready, my man assisted by priming the needle. He’s keen to put it in too, but I’m not so keen. Might be fun if it were the other way round…

I must say I have a lot more of a roll to select from than I did last time. I shift the needle tip around until I find a less sensitive spot and then it seems like my skin is suddenly so hard, the needle isn’t able to break it. I guess it could be I am simply too chicken to apply the pressure required to break through the skin so it just sits there until I eventually have the guts to go all the way. The boy is dying to push it in for me, but I know if it hurts it’s best I only have myself to blame. Finally the needle goes in and I hardly feel it at all. Inject the drug and it’s all over. I get a slight itchy feeling afterward around the point of the injection and a little welt like an itchy bite but that goes down after about half an hour.

The day 1 injection is over and it was easy!

This is our second round of IVF so we know what we are in for – we were doing this last year too. Feeling OK about what is ahead of us at this point.

We had a successful pregnancy after our first IVF round, and had a lovely wee baby girl. Sadly though, I went into premature labour late in my 2nd trimester and it all happened so fast there was no stopping it. She lived for just over a day – her undeveloped lungs just couldn’t cope.  We are still working through all the grief of losing our daughter, and understand it is something we will not ‘get over’ but will learn to live with as time goes on. There are more OK days now than bad days, so I guess that’s something.

We had 1 frozen embryo stored, so made a decision to brave it, and give it another go. We went through TER (Transfer & Embryo Replacement) a couple of months ago. That was exciting but scary at the same time. I was optimistic and felt like I had a bundle of joy growing inside me, but I had it wrong. We had a positive pregnancy test, but the levels were so low they didn’t hold much hope. And they were right… I miscarried a couple of weeks later.

So anyway, getting back to today – we are moving forward and having a 2ndgo (hence the username).  I feel confident I/we will be able to cope with the ups and downs faced with IVF. It’s a real sense of achievement in a way knowing that we are taking steps / making progress in a bid to have a chance at something we’ve been wanting for a long time.

Bring it on…